The ambitious plan by the Federal Government to build no fewer than 40,000 blocks of houses for Nigerians across the 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory may not materialise this year.

This is due mainly to the refusal of no fewer than eight states and the FCT to make the required  land available for the construction of the houses, which have already been designed and approved.

The development comes, as the Federal Government moves to provide no fewer than 40 universities and teaching hospitals nationwide with constant power supply. Beautiful houses in a gated estate Although the benefiting universities have not yet been made public, sources close to the Ministry of Power, Works and Housing, said that the project is a priority programme of the Buhari administration, with details already worked out for immediate implementation.

The document listed the eight states yet to respond to the Federal Government’s request for the provision of land for the building of the houses as: Benue, Niger, Taraba, Rivers, Akwa Ibom, Enugu, Lagos, Adamawa and the FCT. However, it was learnt that the FMPWH has alternative plots of land in  Enugu, Lagos, Adamawa and the FCT and could push ahead with the construction in the affected states if no new allocations are made.

In the case of Adamawa, the FMWPH is merely requesting the state to build a bridge across the site to make it accessible during rainy seasons. However, Kaduna, Anambra, Cross River, Bayelsa, Nasarawa, Edo and Abia states, are said to have provided new land to the FMWPH for the construction of the houses in their states.

Sources close to the FMWPH said however that the sites in the seven states were yet to be inspected by the Federal Government. In the same vein, two states – Jigawa and Ogun – are said to have provided ‘unsuitable allocations’. It was not clear if the allocations had been rejected by the Federal Government. But the Federal Government has already requested the Jigawa State Government to re-instate the revoked FMPWH land already acquired in the state.

It was also discovered that 19 states of the federation eager to see the emergence of new housing projects in their domains, have already made available thousands of hectares of land to the Federal Government for that purpose.

The states are: Kwara, Kogi, Sokoto, Zamfara, Kebbi, Yobe, Borno, Bauchi and Plateau. Others that have complied with the land demand are: Kano, Delta, Oyo, Ondo, Osun, Ekiti, Gombe, Katsina, Imo and Ebonyi. Under the project, a total of 40,000 skilled and unskilled Nigerians are expected to be employed between now and 2019.


(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)